From: 15,00

From: 15,00

Releases on 28 January 2022.



Fourth full album released on CD, Vinyl LP and digital.

There is a certain churning, boiling energy to the new music of Black Flower. New synth- and organ sounds by a new band member, live modular effects on the drums, a new long awaited conch shell appearance and the use of different kinds of flutes, all adding up to the psychedelic and exploratory identity of the band. Driving rhythms and Eastern influenced melodies serve as a rich source of pleasure that, like magma, become real and solid when finding its way to the surface. It’s the prefect metaphor for this album’s creational process. A vocal collaboration with Meskerem Mees, the producer skills of Frederik Segers and the artwork of London visual virtuoso Raimund Wong (Total Refreshment Centre) are key elements that helped this album in its ascension from deep down up to the surface. A creative process solidified into vinyl, just as magma into rock.


The critics on Black Flower’s previous albums:

“Riveting playfulness and throttling sense of adventure” Mojo

 “Music that will make you turn on, tune in and turn it right up” Songlines

 “Bends the purist rules of world music to good effect” The Independent

“We’re fans of knitwear-loving Belgian five-piece Black Flower. Why wouldn’t you be?” The Artsdesk

“Brilliant” Gilles Peterson, BBC Radio 6 Music/Worldwide FM

Additional information

Weight N/A


Nathan Daems: saxophones, kaval, washint
Jon Birdsong: cornet, conch shells
Karel Cuelenaere: keys
Filip Vandebril: bass & bass VI
Simon Segers: drums

Recorded and produced by Frederik Segers at Boma Studio.
Mastered by Thomas De Pauw at Motormusic.
Executive producer Wout Van Putten for Zephyrus Music vzw
Artwork, layout & graphic design by Raimund Wong

℗ & © 2022 Zephyrus Music vzw under exclusive licence to Sdban / N.E.W.S. Marketed and distributed by N.E.W.S.


  1. Magma
  2. O Fogo
  3. The Light
  4. Half Liquid
  5. Deep Dive Down
  6. Morning in the Jungle feat. Meskerem Mees
  7. The Forge
  8. Blue Speck

You may also like…